The social media metrics to trace in 2023


Social media entails the final word balancing act of the inventive and the analytical. But when creativity is the intriguing icing on the cake, social media metrics are the important components to bringing the ultimate dish to life.

There’s nobody “magic” metric to measure. Entrepreneurs should rely on a wholesome mix of a number of metrics for instance how social media impacts the complete enterprise. And the social media metrics that shall be essential to your technique and reporting will rely in your model, enterprise objectives and technique.

Simply as social media is consistently in flux, so too are the metrics that show to be most vital in your bigger technique. On this article, we’ll stroll by a number of the key metrics social groups are specializing in now, and find out how to break down silos together with your social media analytics and reporting technique.

What are social media metrics and why do you have to monitor them?

Social media metrics are factors of information important to monitoring the efficiency of your social channels, content material, technique and the impression all of it has on your corporation objectives.

A graphic the says: What are social media metrics? Social media metrics are points of data essential to tracking the performance of your social channels, content, strategy and the impact it all has on your business goals.

Measuring social media metrics has implications that stretch far past social. Social media information is enterprise intelligence that informs model well being, aggressive standing and supreme efficiency benchmarks. A lot in order that, in response to The 2023 State of Social Media report, over half of enterprise leaders say that social media information and insights at present inform their firm’s enterprise technique.

It additionally helps you clearly illustrate the worth of social and your ROI—which is likely one of the best challenges for social media groups, in response to The Sprout Social Index™.

An overview of social media teams' biggest challenges including bandwidth, proving ROI, social execution, resourcing and social as a business function. The leading challenge is bandwidth/talent, which has increased significantly YOY.

To maintain an agile technique and uncover insights that feed your whole group, social media measurement isn’t a nice-to-have—it’s a should.

10 varieties of social media metrics entrepreneurs are prioritizing extra

Your social media objectives decide which metrics matter to you. However the metrics social professionals are specializing in can assist information the place to focus your efforts.

In a Q2 2023 Sprout pulse survey of 255 social entrepreneurs, we requested how a lot entrepreneurs are weighing sure metrics in 2023 vs. 2022. These are the metrics they indicated have been being weighed extra closely this yr.

A graphic that lists how often social teams are using 10 different social media metrics in 2023 vs 2022. The metrics are as follows: 63% Follower growth and audience size, 62% Customer satisfaction and feedback collected through social media, 62% Impressions, awareness and reach of social media content, 61% Customer retention and loyalty through social media engagement, 54% Social media referral traffic and website visits, 52% Brand sentiment analysis and social media mentions, 51% Conversion rates for social media campaigns and advertisements, 51% Engagement metrics such as likes, comments, and shares, 51% Click-through rates (CTR) on social media posts and ads, 44% Cost per click (CPC) or cost per impression (CPM) for social media advertising

Let’s dig deeper into what every of those metrics classes can do on your technique and enterprise, and associated metrics in every class to contemplate prioritizing.

Follower progress and viewers dimension

Follower depend is usually discounted as a conceit metric. However follower progress tells a extra full story about your channel’s well being, the notice you’re constructing and whether or not you’re outpacing rivals—or falling behind.

In case your follower progress has halted, or worse, declined, it’s time to regulate your technique. And that technique will differ from channel to channel.

To develop on Instagram, specializing in short-form video Reels is a strong tactic—they’re constructed to achieve new audiences. On TikTok, make use of trending sounds, music and visible developments. And it doesn’t matter what channel you need to develop on, constantly submit content material that resonates together with your viewers.

Listed below are a number of viewers progress metrics to trace:

Follower progress

Your follower progress measures the web new followers you gained in a selected time interval. Merely subtract what number of followers you had firstly of a time interval from the quantity of followers you might have now.

Whereas follower depend by itself gained’t let you know a lot, figuring out what number of followers you gained is a strong strategy to show the ROI of content material sorts, campaigns and social media experiments.

Analytics automation instruments lower out the calculation course of so you possibly can give attention to the insights that show you how to show ROI. For instance, take a look at how Sprout Social’s Instagram Profile Report helps you visualize your viewers progress, and calculates your web progress for you:

A screenshot of the Instagram Business Profiles report in Sprout Social where audience growth is represented in a graph over time.

Follower progress fee

Follower progress fee is a share that reveals you ways rapidly your viewers is definitely rising—or slowing—inside a sure time interval.

Right here’s how that is calculated: (Followers you gained in a selected time / the preliminary variety of followers you had previous to that achieve) x 100

For instance, let’s say you had 10,000 followers firstly of June. By the tip, you might have 10,200 followers. You’d calculate your progress fee like this: (200 / 10,000) x 100 = 2% progress fee.

Viewers dimension

As I discussed, that is typically disregarded as a conceit metric. However that is seemingly as a result of it’s checked out by itself, reasonably than within the bigger context of efficiency and channel well being.

Preserving monitor of adjustments to your follower depend month-to-month, quarterly and yearly is a vital information level that fuels the higher-level metrics we simply talked about.

Buyer satisfaction and suggestions collected by social media

Social media is a goldmine of unfiltered opinions and conversations about your model, rivals and merchandise.

Conversations on social media reveal helpful details about what’s and isn’t working together with your content material, buyer care, model, merchandise and extra.

The shopper needs to be on the core of all the pieces you do. In accordance with The 2023 State of Social Media report, “gaining a greater understanding of consumers” is the second most vital enterprise precedence within the present financial surroundings.

A data visualization that illustrates the top business priorities for business leaders in the current economic environment. The priorities listed in order of importance are building brand reputation and loyalty, gaining a better understanding of customers, improving competitive positioning, moving business forward with reduced budgets, and predicting future trends.

Listed below are a number of proactive metrics to watch for buyer satisfaction:

Reply time

Being responsive on social is essential to constructing group, and serving your clients. Greater than three-quarters of shoppers count on a response inside 24 hours, in response to The Sprout Social Index™.

That’s why your reply time is likely one of the most vital customer support metrics to measure. It measures how lengthy it takes on your staff to answer to a buyer message on social.

A screenshot of Sprout Social's response to a comment on a Sprout LinkedIn post that reads, "Love that approach, Meghan!"

The easiest way to quantify this metric is with a software. For instance, Sprout’s Inside Studies, just like the Inbox Group Report, calculate staff efficiency metrics like Common Reply Time for you.

The Inbox Team Report summary in Sprout Social where the average reply time can be seen overall, and by team member.

Whole response quantity

Whole Response Quantity is the variety of responses your staff sends to clients.

Unanswered messages on social create a irritating buyer expertise. Monitoring customer support metrics, like this one, show you how to enhance your buyer care expertise by figuring out what number of messages are being missed.

Buyer satisfaction rating (CSAT)

Your CSAT signifies how glad clients are together with your merchandise, companies or model and enterprise as an entire. This quantity is often sourced from surveys however there are methods to measure it on social by social messaging.

With Sprout, for instance, you possibly can DM clients for suggestions through Twitter and Fb to gauge their CSAT rating, or their Internet Promoter Rating—that’s, how seemingly they’re to advocate your organization to a pal. Then, combination these survey outcomes into an automatic Buyer Suggestions Report back to synthesize your findings.

A screenshot of the customer feedback report in Sprout Social displaying a bar graph plotting out customer feedback results.


Whereas that is additionally an engagement metric, what individuals are saying within the feedback offers helpful details about them, and your model. The feedback part is a superb place to uncover alternatives to enhance the client expertise.

Consciousness metrics (Impressions, consciousness and attain of social media content material)

Consciousness metrics, because the identify suggests, are integral to connecting the dots between your social media technique and the model consciousness it’s creating.

Listed below are a number of consciousness metrics to prioritize.


On the submit stage, impressions are what number of instances a submit is exhibited to somebody. Impressions are a very good indicator of how fashionable a chunk of content material is, and that folks could also be viewing a submit a number of instances.

Not each channel has each attain and impressions. For instance, TikTok’s “whole video views” is the equal of impressions. Twitter and YouTube solely provide impressions; not attain.

Whereas impressions inform you numerous concerning the potential visibility your content material has on social, it’s nonetheless vital to take a look at different metrics for final efficiency context. If in case you have a number of objectives, like rising consciousness and educating your viewers, you’ll seemingly need to search for a mix of impressions, engagement and conversion fee.


Attain is the potential distinctive viewers a submit has—in different phrases, what number of people have seen a submit.

The distinction between attain and impressions will be complicated at first. Consider it this manner: If I see a submit 3 times, that’s three impressions. However I solely depend as one particular person reached.

However they’re each vital to trace, particularly in case your objectives for social are targeted round model consciousness and notion.

Video views

Video views could come off as a conceit metric. However on sure channels, like TikTok, views depend as impressions, and are due to this fact vital to watch.

Views are additionally a very good indicator of how a lot consciousness you’re producing with a video. However this metric is strongest when mixed with different metrics, like view period, engagement or shares, that present wider context.

Buyer retention and loyalty by social media engagement

Buyer retention and loyalty is barely much less simple to measure on social than, say, consciousness or conversion metrics.

Nonetheless, this is a vital metric to trace for model well being. And there are methods to collect this info by your channels.

Listed below are a number of metrics that may show you how to measure buyer retention and loyalty:

Internet promotor rating (NPS)

Your web promotor rating is how seemingly clients are to advocate your model to different folks—a useful indicator of buyer loyalty and retention.

That is usually gathered by surveys, which often ask clients how seemingly they’re to refer your model to somebody on a scale of 0 to 10. Those that mark 9 or 10 are known as “promotors,” and are enthusiastic about your model. Anybody who marks 0-6 is known as a “detractor,” and is unhappy.

Right here’s the way you calculate your rating: % of promoters – % of detractors.

In case you use Sprout, you possibly can arrange NPS surveys in Fb and Twitter DMs for shoppers to fill out after interacting together with your model. Their solutions will seem in your Buyer Suggestions Report.

A screenshot of a social messaging NPS survey set up through Sprout.

Social commerce metrics

Utilizing social commerce storefronts, like Fb Outlets and Instagram Purchasing, offers you with plenty of retention and loyalty metrics.

In Meta’s Commerce Supervisor Insights, metrics like returning guests, returning patrons and gross sales from followers—whereas all estimated—show you how to perceive social commerce buyer retention.


Monitoring your opinions, like these gathered on Google, TripAdvisor and Fb, is a strong strategy to gauge buyer satisfaction and the way seemingly they’re to be loyal to your model.

What’s extra—responding to opinions, optimistic and unfavourable, helps you reward and retain joyful clients. And probably win you again sad clients by resolving a difficulty and listening to them out.

Social media referral site visitors and web site visits

Social metrics that join the dots between your social channels and bigger enterprise are essential to proving your staff’s ROI and impression. And mapping net visits and referral site visitors again to your social channels is a strong manner to take action.

Listed below are a number of metrics to observe:

Social media referral site visitors

Referrals are how a consumer lands in your web site. In net analytics, you’ll see them damaged down into sources. Social media referral site visitors describes individuals who go to your web site straight from social media pages and posts.

The easiest way to measure that is through the use of UTM monitoring. UTM monitoring entails including a code to any URLs you share on social—assume weblog posts or product hyperlinks. This lets you see precisely how a lot site visitors is coming to your website from particular social media channels, posts and adverts in Google Analytics.

Use our UTM Builder to create your trackable hyperlinks—“Social” is often the supply/medium you’ll be monitoring, after which it’s damaged down by community.

A screenshot of Sprout's built-in URL tracking parameter builder.

Web site site visitors

Whereas your social staff could not at present be monitoring web site site visitors, it’s an vital metric to take a look at alongside your social media efficiency.

The power to attribute a rise in web site site visitors to social media exercise—from campaigns to new content material codecs or viral posts—is likely one of the finest methods for instance the impression of social on the bigger enterprise.

Utilizing a software like Google Analytics—displayed right here inside a Sprout report—helps visualize net classes daily which can be straight attributed to particular social channels.

A screenshot of Sprout's Google Analytics GA4 report showing website sessions driven from Instagram, LinkedIn and Twitter.

Model well being metrics (sentiment evaluation and social media mentions)

What you study on social carries implications—and prospects—on your whole enterprise. And social metrics that ladder as much as model well being are a number of the strongest sources of social enterprise intelligence.

This intel reveals essential adjustments your groups must make, the way you stack up towards the competitors, market shifts and even potential model crises effervescent up.

Listed below are a number of metrics that make clear the well being of your group:

Viewers sentiment

Understanding what folks say within the feedback part is one factor. However figuring out how folks really feel about your model and merchandise sheds richer mild on model well being.

Viewers sentiment reveals how folks truly really feel about your model and merchandise. You may even evaluate the sentiment in direction of your model to that of rivals.

Social listening is likely one of the best methods to show social media chatter round your model or particular subject into quantifiable sentiment, like within the Sprout instance under.

A screenshot of a Listening Performance Sentiment Summary in Sprout. It depicts percentage of positive sentiment and changes in sentiment trends over time.

Model mentions

Model mentions is a metric that entails monitoring what number of instances your model is talked about in posts or feedback on social—whether or not or not you’re tagged.

Natural social mentions—like @mentions that aren’t a part of a reply, or tagging a model in an Instagram story with out prompting—point out good model consciousness.

Your staff is probably going already monitoring mentions for social monitoring. However to see the complete impression of your model mentions, you could seize posts and feedback that point out your model identify, and even misspell it, with out tagging you. Discover how Brooklinen was capable of leap into this dialog with out being tagged:

A screenshot of a Tweet where the brand brooklinen is mentioned but not tagged, and a response from Brooklinen on the Tweet.

Social listening additionally empowers you to establish frequent key phrases talked about alongside your model. This makes it simpler to raised perceive if these mentions sign suggestions, a model breakthrough or a model disaster.

A screenshot of the Sprout Word Cloud that shows popular keywords mentioned around a topic using Sprout's social listening tool.

Share of Voice

Share of voice (SOV) reveals you the place your model ranks available in the market in comparison with rivals. This helps you higher perceive how a lot of the trade dialog your model dominates.

Share of voice info is often measured by analyzing actual conversations occurring by the social area. This helps you perceive when clients advocate your model, or once they decide different manufacturers over yours.

Share of voice is calculated by dividing your model metrics (or measures) by the whole market metrics. The metric you select to plug in will rely in your objectives—however mentions on social shall be most related for social groups.

That is difficult info to supply manually, so an automation software, like social listening, is useful.

Sprout Social Listening Dashboard showing a circular graph that plots out a brand's share of voice versus several competitors.

Conversion charges for social media campaigns and ads

Social ads and campaigns with a low return are a waste of time, cash and power on your staff.

That’s the place conversion charges and associated metrics are available in. Listed below are a number of essential metrics to measure.

Conversion fee

Conversion fee measures how properly your social advert or marketing campaign is convincing folks to take a desired motion. Assume: making a purchase order, opting into your e-mail publication, signing up for an occasion or a webinar, downloading a information or visiting a webpage.

Calculate conversion fee like this: (whole variety of social media conversions / desired metric, like clicks, web site visits or impressions) x 100. However analytics instruments will calculate this for you.

In case your conversion fee is low, strive A/B testing your advert or marketing campaign messaging, inventive and CTA.


On prime of figuring out your conversion fee, it’s additionally useful to know what number of conversions your advert, submit, channel or marketing campaign is receiving.

A conversion is when somebody takes a desired motion, like buying one thing out of your website or signing up for an upcoming occasion. A social conversion means they visited through a social media channel after which bought one thing in that very same go to.

Social media engagement metrics

Engagement is an enormous umbrella class to trace. It’s additionally one of the vital.

Engagement boils all the way down to how a lot your viewers interacts together with your account or content material, and the way typically. Excessive engagement charges point out a wholesome and viewers and highlights the content material sorts which can be most interesting to them.

However taking a look at a mix of metrics paints you a extra full image. A submit with a 100,000 impressions seems good. But when it solely acquired 50 engagements, it did not construct model connection.

Or, a submit could have 100,000 engagements. But when they’re all “offended” reacts, you could examine additional.

Social media engagement metrics are nice to benchmark—on your efficiency, and towards rivals. For instance, in 2023, the typical every day engagements per submit throughout all industries was 14. Obtain our 2023 Content material Benchmarks report for extra information.

A data visualization that shows that the average daily inbound engagements per post in 2023 was 14 across all industries, per the Sprout Social 2023 Benchmarks Report.

Listed below are a number of Social media engagement metrics to take a look at.

Submit engagement fee

Engagement fee is a metric typically used to trace how actively concerned together with your content material your viewers is and the way efficient your model campaigns are. Engaged shoppers work together with manufacturers by interactions equivalent to likes, feedback and social sharing.

Likes, feedback, retweets, reactions and many others.

Actions you possibly can take straight on a submit, together with likes, reactions or feedback, are engagements on a granular stage.

These particular person engagement metrics are vainness metrics on their very own, however they add up. And when examined at a excessive stage, they inform you numerous about which of your posts are most profitable and what your viewers likes.


Shares are one other granular metric. But when sure content material items obtain extra shares than others, that is helpful info.

This reveals you what content material individuals are keen to share with their buddies, rising your model consciousness.

Video completion fee

Whereas video views show you how to decide a video’s preliminary recognition, video completion fee tells you extra about how attention-grabbing and interesting the content material is.

For instance, if a video will get 10,000 views, that’s promising. But when folks drop off after a number of seconds, your video failed to carry consideration.

Click on-through charges (CTR) on social media posts and adverts

To riff on the outdated “if a tree falls” adage: If a social media advert publishes, however nobody clicked in your content material, was it even definitely worth the advert spend?

Whenever you pay for an advert desiring to get somebody to click on on a hyperlink, occasion or piece of content material, figuring out how properly you’re convincing folks to take action helps you optimize your advert inventive and spend.
Let’s take a more in-depth take a look at this metric:

Click on-through charges (CTR)

Click on-through fee (CTR) compares the variety of instances somebody clicks in your content material to the variety of impressions you get (i.e., what number of instances the advert was seen). A excessive CTR means an efficient advert.

Notice that CTRs differ wildly throughout industries, networks and content material sorts. Some frequent examples of areas the place CTR is measured embrace:

  • E-mail hyperlinks and call-to-action buttons
  • PPC ads
  • Hyperlinks on touchdown pages
  • Social media promoting
  • On-site components (buttons, picture, and many others)

It’s finest to analysis trade benchmarks beforehand after which monitor your adverts and alter accordingly.

Paid social metrics (value per click on (CPC) or value per impression (CPM) for social media promoting)

With regards to paid social, making certain you’re getting probably the most bang on your buck is essential.

We’ve already talked about a number of paid social metrics to trace, together with conversion fee and click-through fee. However listed here are a number of extra to make sure you’re spending smarter, and optimizing advert campaigns:

Price per click on (CPC)

Price per click on is precisely what it feels like: how a lot it prices for each click on you obtain on a paid piece of content material. And price per impression is measuring how a lot it’s important to pay per thousand impressions.

You typically cap your spend at a selected value per click on—for instance, Google recommends setting $1 as your most value for Google adverts. And Fb adverts, on common, are $0.94 CPC—cheaper than LinkedIn, Instagram and YouTube promoting.

Right here’s the way you calculate CPC: promoting value / variety of clicks.

And right here’s the way you calculate your common CPC: whole value of clicks / whole variety of clicks.

Understanding your common will show you how to decide which adverts to optimize for higher engagement.

Net conversions

Net conversions are when an internet site customer takes a desired motion in your web site, like buying an merchandise, studying an article or signing up for a webinar.

Use Google Analytics to straight join net conversions to guests directed to your web site, articles or a last buy from social media.

Bonus tip: Many social media platforms allow in-app buying. Be sure you monitor direct-from-social purchases to tie social media storefronts to enterprise income.

Return on advert spend (ROAS)

ROAS tells you ways a lot income your advert is making in comparison with how a lot spend you’re placing into a selected advert marketing campaign.

In a manner, ROAS is a extra granular strategy to present the monetary ROI of a selected advert marketing campaign. It is a stellar strategy to justify additional advert spend, or to find out which adverts don’t have a excessive sufficient return.

Calculate ROAS like this: income gained from social adverts / advert value for a similar adverts or marketing campaign. Illustrate the results of this calculation as a ratio. For instance, for those who earn $5 from each $1 spent on an advert, your ROAS is 5:1.

Social media measurement ideas for painless reporting

Understanding what social media metrics to trace is simply step one. The hot button is figuring out find out how to make sense of them on your staff and different stakeholders.

Social information is usually a lot bigger than social alone. And if you make social information a cross-org asset, you exhibit the facility of social, and the impression your staff has on the enterprise as an entire.

Listed below are some social media measurement ideas to assist your staff and org be extra data-driven.

Create shared definitions on your metrics

A straightforward-to-solve barrier in terms of understanding social metrics is just figuring out what every metric means, and why it issues.

Making a sharable glossary of phrases that features metric definitions, how they’re measured and why they matter retains everybody on the identical web page.

This eases the method of teaching new staff hires, interns or shut collaborators. And it helps exterior stakeholders, together with your C-suite, make sense of your studies and perceive ROI.

Add which means by telling a narrative together with your metrics

Social metrics are simply numbers—particular person puzzle items.

The important thing to good reporting is by information storytelling to create the large image. Information storytelling is including which means to your metrics through the use of them to exhibit the impression of content material in your social technique, and of social in your complete enterprise.

Right here are some things to contemplate when deciding on what story to inform:

  • Your viewers: A peer may need granular information, like impressions and clicks. However an govt will seemingly need business-level takeaways, like ROI and sentiment.
  • The kind of report: It will show you how to slim down the metrics you employ. Making a month-to-month report? Spotlight your most engaged-with and high-impressions posts, and what meaning on your technique. A marketing campaign report? Spotlight the impression your marketing campaign had on a selected objective, like conversions or net site visitors.
  • Your online business objectives: Contact on model consciousness by highlighting metrics like impressions, attain and views. Spotlight ROI by exhibiting web site site visitors upticks throughout a marketing campaign, or conversion fee of adverts.
  • Your staff objectives: Are you reporting to justify leaning into a brand new content material kind, like video? Or to safe a bigger funds by proving the impression of adverts?
  • Modifications: Metrics have probably the most impression if you give them context. The change in conversions, for instance, from the start of a marketing campaign to the tip illustrates ROI.

Obtain our social media reporting toolkit to get a jumpstart in your information storytelling.

Create an everyday reporting cadence

Reporting is likely one of the most vital methods to maintain your staff and technique on monitor. Create an everyday reporting cadence to remain agile. Assume month-to-month studies for well being checks, fast adjustments and experiments, and quarterly and yearly studies for bigger shifts and progress in direction of enterprise objectives.

Take this a step additional and break down silos by often sharing customized studies with different staff leaders. Speak to different groups about how social information will assist them. Then, often ship a report containing probably the most helpful metrics and takeaways.

Reporting typically feels daunting, nevertheless it doesn’t need to be. Utilizing analytics and reporting instruments, like these provided in Sprout, streamlines and hastens this course of. And customized report builder capabilities make it simple to create studies that target the metrics stakeholders want.

A screenshot of Sprout's Facebook Summary. Metrics include impressions, engagements, post link clicks and publishing behavior (plotted on a colorful line graph).

When your technique shifts, revisit what you measure

The one fixed on social media is change. And that goes on your technique, as properly.

From org shifts to adjustments within the social area, your social technique should be capable to adapt. Your KPIs ought to match your technique and enterprise objectives. If enterprise objectives change, these KPIs will change with it. And meaning refocusing your metrics accordingly.

When this occurs, revisit the metrics you prioritize. Are these metrics nonetheless serving to you perceive your technique and its impression on the enterprise?

Instruments for monitoring social media metrics

Calculating every metric by hand is now not practical. To remain agile, you want the precise instruments.

Analytics instruments automate social media measurement, so you possibly can give attention to uncovering the insights that matter most to you.

Listed below are a number of stellar instruments for monitoring social media metrics. And obtain our social media analytics template to be reporting-ready.

Community-specific metrics instruments

The entire most important social media platform gamers provide built-in analytics. A number of the metrics they provide could range, however they’re all efficient instruments for monitoring social media metrics.

Here’s a temporary snapshot of what every social platform provides:

Insights in Meta Enterprise Suite

Insights within the Meta Enterprise Suite streamline your Fb and Instagram analytics, natural and paid, into one hub. However you may as well view analytics for every of Meta’s platforms individually.

Insights offer you an at-a-glance take a look at how your Fb and Instagram methods are performing, to simply evaluate your web page efficiency towards rivals and uncover viewers demographics.

Listed below are some insights you possibly can glean at a submit and profile stage for Fb and Instagram:

  • Efficiency of your corporation profiles by metrics like developments and attain.
  • The cross-spend of your advert account for each platforms (Separate from the Adverts Supervisor, which offers a extra in-depth evaluation and methods to construct your campaigns.)
  • Engagement metrics for natural and boosted content material, equivalent to likes and feedback.
  • Demographic data for individuals who observe you on Instagram and Like your Web page on Fb to raised perceive your viewers.
A screenshot of the Meta Business Suite and a window where you can export insights data.

TikTok Analytics

TikTok Analytics provides a simple strategy to measure your web page and short-form video efficiency, follower stats and LIVE content material.

Metrics like video views and most energetic instances show you how to get a greater understanding of video engagement and your finest instances to submit.

In case you select to promote on TikTok, you might have entry to much more metrics and efficiency information, like monitoring actions that web site guests take, and creating distinctive audiences.

A screenshot of TikTok's analytics dashboard for desktop where metrics like video views and followers are highlighted in the overview section.

Twitter Analytics

Twitter analytics provide three dashboards:

  • The Tweet Exercise dashboard offers a top-level take a look at how your Tweets and Web page are performing. That is the principle dashboard you’ll need to take a look at for efficiency metrics.
  • The Followers dashboard the place you possibly can study extra about your viewers demographics.
  • The Twitter Playing cards dashboard to measure how your Twitter Playing cards—which contain including meta tags to your webpages—drive actions like app installs or clicks.
A screenshot of the Tweet activity dashboard on Twitter.

Pinterest Analytics

Pinterest Analytics provides particular person Pin analytics, a profile overview, viewers analytics and extra. And for those who promote on the platform, you’ll see how your natural and paid social content material performs side-by-side to trace your efforts for each methods.

Along with efficiency metrics, the Pinterest Analytics hub hyperlinks to the Pinterest Tendencies dashboard. These further insights show you how to perceive what subjects, key phrases and themes are trending to enhance your content material and attain.

A screenshot of the Pinterest Trends page where trending topics and keywords are listed and ranked.

LinkedIn Analytics

LinkedIn Analytics provide a deep look into how your Web page is performing and the way your skilled community is rising.

Past analytics on your Web page and content material, like followers and engagement, LinkedIn additionally uniquely provides professional-focused insights: Employer Model to know Profession Web page engagement, and Worker Advocacy.

A screenshot of the dropdown menu that helps you filter types of LinkedIn analytics on the platform.

Sprout Social

Counting on every platform’s particular person analytics dashboards results in a whole lot of forwards and backwards on your staff. Sprout offers your entire key metrics and efficiency analytics in a centralized location, streamlining your staff’s workflow.

The home page listing reports you can choose from in Sprout, as well as custom reports you can create and shape.

Rapidly create presentation-ready studies on your social channels with Sprout’s highly effective analytics and reporting instruments. The submit efficiency report, for instance, rapidly identifies your prime posts throughout networks, so you possibly can rapidly alter your technique and serve your viewers.

Screenshot of Sprout's Analytics for Cross-Channel Post Performance Report, showing performance of Instagram, Facebook and Twitter posts.

And with customized studies, share studies designed together with your inside viewers in thoughts to give attention to particular channels, total efficiency and even competitor comparability.

With Sprout, you’re empowered to interrupt down silos and make your staff and full org extra data-driven. Attempt Sprout free for 30 days to see how we make measuring social media metrics much more impactful. And for those who’re fascinated by our social listening answer, attain out to us for a personalised demo.

Google Analytics

Google Analytics is likely one of the finest instruments to make use of to show ROI and join the dots between your social channels and enterprise objectives.

You could already be utilizing Google Analytics on your web site basically. However we’ve already talked about how Google Analytics illustrates the impression of social by connecting social exercise and channels to net site visitors.

A screenshot of a Google Analytics dashboard.

Use Google Analytics at the side of different instruments for monitoring social media metrics to create an entire image of your social efficiency and impression. Sprout even provides a Google Analytics report the place you possibly can see how your social media exercise drove classes in your web site.


Tableau is the “creme de la creme” of metrics dashboards. It provides dynamic analytics dashboards and information visualizations that make enterprise intelligence extra accessible and assist orgs be extra data-driven.

Tableau dashboards present an at-a-glance take a look at your social metrics alongside key insights from throughout your corporation. This offers you a 360 take a look at your business-wide efficiency and KPIs.

Bringing your social efficiency right into a Tableau dashboard breaks down silos by offering extra information visibility throughout your staff and org. And with Sprout’s Tableau integration, seamlessly join your social information to a dynamic dashboard.

A screenshot of a Tableau dashboard with data from Sprout Social incorporated.

Hone in on the social media metrics that matter most

There are dozens of metrics to select from. And it’s too simple to get overwhelmed.

However selecting the best social media metrics to trace is a recreation changer. Not simply on your fast staff, however on your complete enterprise.

If you wish to make sure you’re measuring social media metrics with the best impression, obtain our social media metrics map to attach probably the most impactful metrics to KPIs and enterprise objectives.


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